

New Mexico Boards Association

300 Galisteo Street, Suite 204 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501

Phone: (505) 983-5041 ☐ Fax: (505) 983-2450 E-mail: nmsba@nmsba.org ☐ website: www.nmsba.org

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release: June 9, 2017

School Boards and Administrators Attend School Law Conference Region Attendance and Student Scholarship Awards Announced

Approximately 600 school board members and education leaders from across the state attended the New Mexico School Boards Association (NMSBA) 2017 School Law Conference at the Hotel Albuquerque, June 2-3. The conference focused on the latest legal issues facing public education in New Mexico. The conference general and breakouts sessions served to assist and inform school board members and school administrators on many key issues including school safety, new legislative initiatives, student testing, special education, procurement and employee evaluations to name a few.

Region Attendance Awards

NMSBA took the opportunity at the conference to present the 2016-2017 Region Meeting Attendance Awards to thirteen outstanding school boards that excelled in attendance and training at the Fall-2016 and Spring-2017 Region School Board Meetings. Award recipients are:

Region I Aztec & Bloomfield School Boards (tie)

Region II Pecos School Board

Region III Maxwell, Santa Rosa & Springer School Boards (tie)

Region IV Bernalillo School Board Region V Grady School Board

Region VI Artesia, Carlsbad & Loving School Boards (tie)

Region VII Cloudcroft School Board Region VIII Reserve School Board

Award recipient photos available upon request.

Student Scholarship Awards

NMSBA's 2017 Scholarships Awards to eight outstanding high school graduating seniors were also announced at the School Law Conference. Nominations were received from school boards and selections were based on criteria including demonstrated leadership, academic performance, community involvement and extracurricular activities. Scholarship recipients are:

Region I Anna Lisa Costner - Central Region II Julia April Gonzales - Pecos

Region III Brooklyn Aragon - West Las Vegas

Region IV Lauren Ann Jones - Estancia Region V Jason L. Hughes - House Region VI Yoni Xiong - Carlsbad

Region VII Olivia S. Weinbaum - Las Cruces Region VIII Allison Louisa Sedillos - Cobre

Scholarship recipient photos available upon request

For additional information please contact Joe Guillen, NMSBA Executive Director or Wendy Sawyer, NMSBA Programs Director at (505) 983-5041.