

New Mexico School Boards Association

300 Galisteo Street, Suite 204 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501 Phone: (505) 983-5041 Galace Fax: (505) 983-2450 E-mail: jguillen@nmsba.org website: www.nmsba.org

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release: May 28, 2020 (Updated)

Contact: Joe Guillen (505) 983-5041 jguillen@nmsba.org

EXCELLENCE IN STUDENT ACHIEVEMENT AWARD RECIPIENTS ANNOUNCED

The New Mexico School Boards Association (NMSBA) today announced recipients of the 2020 Excellence in Student Achievement Awards. The awards, sponsored by NMSBA, are presented to individuals selected by local boards of education throughout New Mexico who have played an important role in improving student achievement in their local school district. Sixty-eight (68) school boards participated in this year's program and one hundred forty-eight (148) award recipients were selected. Recipients are listed below and will be honored at local school board meetings throughout New Mexico over the next few weeks. For specific information about award recipients, please contact the local school district. For additional information on the Excellence in Student Achievement Award Program contact Joe Guillen, NMSBA Executive Director.

SCHOOL BOARD	RECIPIENT	CATEGORY
	line the sheart	
Alamogordo	Jim Heckert	Community Member
Albuquerque (2)	Rachel Altobelli Jessica Villalobos	Staff Member Staff Member
Animas	Levi Klump	School Board Member
Artesia (2)	Michele McEachern David Codding	Volunteer Volunteer
Aztec (2)	Catherine Olson Brenda McNeal	Staff Member Administrator
Bernalillo	Vickie Garcia	Administrator
Bloomfield	Leslie Notah	Staff Member
Carlsbad	Chad Ingram	Community Member
Carrizozo	Elizabeth Barela	Teacher
Chama	Martha Jane Manzanares	Community Member
Cimarron (3)	Jody Martinez Gretchen Rockenfied Lawana Whitten	Administrator Staff Member Administrator
Clayton	PMS & Harvesting	Community Organization

Cloudcroft	William Denney	Community Member
Clovis	Carrie Nigreville	Administrator
Cobre (2)	Cindy Lee Gary Garcia	School Board Member School Board Member
Cuba (2)	Theresa Linney Mary Ann Ga	Staff Member Staff Member
Deming	Dr. Niccole Rech	WNMU Adjunct Instructor
Des Moines	Elijah Trujillo	Staff Member
Dexter	Bernice Quiroz	Staff Member
Dora	Mark Clark	Parent
Espanola (3)	Patricia Romero Major Mark Gonzales Alejandro "Titio" Ortiz	Administrator Staff Member Administrator
Estancia (3)	Cheryl Chavez Mindy Lingnau Jaime Silva	Staff Member Administrator Staff Member
Farmington (7)	Nicole Lambson Billy Huish Senator Mimi Stewart Rachel Gudgel Elisabeth Peterson Cindy Colomb Gerald Bonds	Administrator Staff Member Legislative Legislative NMPED Staff Member Staff Member
Floyd	Clovis Gray	Former Board Member
Gadsden (4)	Guillermo Hernandez Maria Hernandez Irene Urquidi Janell Koesel	Staff Member Administrator Staff Member Teacher
Gallup-McKinley (26)	Bobby Smith Crownpoint Bus Barn Daniel Matkovich Danny Matkovich Edmund Yazzie Evelyn Barreras Gerald Horacek Gretchen Russell Page 2 of 5	Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Community Member Staff Member Administrator Staff Member

	Judy Platero Julie Kastrounis Jvanna Hanks II Lindsey Smith Mingus Mark Freeland Michael Hyatt Nelson Edsitty Norma James Pauletta White Susan Wenning Teri Fraizer Tim Bond Thoreau Bus Barn Tine Hayes Tohatchi Bus Barn Tse Yi Gai Bus Barn Vanessa Duckett Yvette Martinez	Staff Member Staff Member Administrator Staff Member Community Member Administrator Parent Community Member Administrator Staff Member Staff Member Staff Members Staff Members
Grants-Cibola	Shelby Alexander	Staff Member
Hagerman	Consuelo Ramirez	Staff Member
Hobbs	Kristy Mosley	Community Member
House	Sondra Jack	Staff Member
Jemez Valley (2)	Anna Antonio Kristi Hartwick	Kindergarten Teacher High School Counselor
Las Cruces (4)	Kellie Dinsmore Dr. Jan Reed David Greenberg Sandy VanLandingham	Staff Member Volunteer Staff Member Community Member
Las Vegas City	Matt Probst	Community Member
Logan	Angie Lawrence	Staff Member
Lordsburg	Frank Acosta	Staff Member
Los Alamos (4)	Ali Renner Sherri Smith Monica Naranjo Matthew Allen	Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member
Loving(6)	Chevron Marathon Oil ConocoPhillips Mosaic Page 3 of 5	Community Member Community Member Community Member Community Member

	Devon WIPP	Community Member Community Member
Lovington	Kristen Hester	Staff Member
Maxwell	Amadeo Soto	Staff Member
Mesa Vista (5)	Ryan Garcia Teresa Sandoval Jerralyn Terrazas Marcella Martinez Alyssa Cervantes	Student Staff Member Staff Member Community Member Student
Mora (2)	Martin Duran Rachael Martinez	Community Member Staff Member
Moriarty-Edgewood	Jennifer Cashman	Staff Member
Mosquero	Lori Lamb	Staff Member
Pecos (2)	Rosie Quintana Joseph "Joe" Vigil	Staff Member Community Member
Penasco (3)	Grace Visarraga Viola Jurica Manuel Archuleta	Staff Member Community Member Staff Member
Pojoaque	Susan Quintana	Staff Member
Portales	Mark Gallegos	Administrator
Raton	Joe Horner	Community Member
Reserve	Odelia Delgado	Staff Member
Rio Rancho (5)	Melanie Archibeque & Facilities Dept. Paul Romero & IT Dept.	Administrator
		Administrator
	Sal Maniaci & Safety and Security	Administrator
	Michelle Havill & SAFE Program Mark Willis & Sodexo	Administrator
		Administrator
Roy	Joe Overberger	Staff Member
Ruidoso	Jason Edmister	Administrator
Santa Fe (9)	Elizabeth Bunker Page 4 of 5	Staff Member

	Janis Devoti Deborah Luke-Skol Jack Lain Kathleen Perea Neal Weaver Michael Gurule Sue O'Brien Paige Prescott	Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member
Santa Rosa	Anthony Crisostomo	Staff Member
Silver (2)	Claudia Thompson Lee Wilson	Teacher/NHD Sponsor Teacher/NHD Sponsor
Socorro (5)	Danny Hicks Rebecca Chavez Patrick Aragon Aimee Pawlcyn Operations Department	Administrator Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Members
Springer	Mary Jensen	Student
Taos	Christopher & Debi Taylor	Volunteers
Tatum	Janice Durham	Staff Member
T or C (3)	Jim Shiley T or C Moose Lodge T or C Rotary Club	Community Member Service Organization Service Organization
Tularosa (2)	Nancy Marr Theresa Monje	Staff Member Substitute Teacher
West Las Vegas (2)	David J. Montano Veronica Ulibarri	Staff Member Staff Member
Zuni	Rowena Chuyate	Staff Member
