

300 Galisteo Street, Suite 204 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501 Phone: (505) 983-5041 G Fax: (505) 983-2450



For Immediate Release: April 10, 2023

Contact: Joe Guillen (505) 983-5041 jguillen@nmsba.org

EXCELLENCE IN STUDENT ACHIEVEMENT AWARD RECIPIENTS ANNOUNCED

The New Mexico School Boards Association (NMSBA) announced recipients of the 2023 Excellence in Student Achievement Awards. The awards, sponsored by NMSBA, are presented to individuals selected by local boards of education throughout New Mexico who have played an important role in improving student achievement in their local school district. Sixty-three (63) school boards participated in this year's program and one hundred sixty-eight (168) award recipients were selected. Recipients are listed below and will be honored at local school board meetings throughout New Mexico over the next few weeks. For specific information about award recipients, please contact the local school district. For additional information on the Excellence in Student Achievement Award Program contact Joe Guillen, NMSBA Executive Director.

<u>District</u>	<u>Recipient</u>	Category
Alamagordo	Nicholas Pederson, Col, USAF	Holloman AFB Ex Officio
Albuquerque	Albuquerque Public Schools Community Schools Coordinator	Staff s
Animas	Loren Cushman Candie Sweetster Robin Moore	Administrator Former Legislator Teacher
Artesia	Kellie Brewer Special Education Department	Teacher Teacher
Aztec	Dr. Neily Snook	Staff
Belen	Deborah Baca Jim Danner	Staff Member School Board Member
Bernalillo	Dr. Eric James	Administrator
Bloomfield	Bette Stahle	Staff Member
Carrizozo	Cathy Barela	Staff Member
Chama	Felecia Martinez Anna Atencio Brycelyn Martinez	Staff Member Staff Member Student

<u>District</u>	<u>Recipient</u>	Category
Cimarron	Laura Eberhardt Sherry Hamilton	Staff Member Staff Member
Clayton	Josh & Rikki Garcia Lewie Baker Russell Lees	Parents/Volunteers Community Member/Vol. Parent/Volunteer
Cloudcroft	Charlie Cooper	Retired Staff Member
Clovis	Deborah Westbrook	Administrator
Cuba	Cuba CARES	Staff Members
Deming	Hailey Chaffin	Staff Member
Dexter	Lorena Castro	Administrator
Dora	Dorothy Gresham	Retired Teacher/Substitute
Dulce	Richard Ibarra	Staff Member
Espanola	SGT Wilbert Romero	Staff Member
Estancia	Jamie Pebley Victoria Olguin Richard Walker	Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member
Farmington	Kyle Rhodes	School Board Member
Floyd	Monica Knight Garrick Matthews Kelly Love	Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member
Fort Sumner	Cynthia Lucero Carrie Norman Maria Gomez	Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member
Gadsden	Connie Jacquez Ernesto Guerrero Christopher Champagne Sam Snoddy JB Colquitt Jerry Pacheco	Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Community Member Community Member
Gallup McKinley	Kristiana Jones Andrew Clark Carol Lalio Sarah Mortensen Page 2 of 6	Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Coach

<u>District</u>	<u>Recipient</u>	<u>Category</u>
Grants Cibola	Andrea Willcox Rana Sanchez Tawnia Manuelito Harry Garcia	Staff Member Administrator Staff Member Community Member
Hobbs	Computer Aided Instruction – CAIStaff Member	
House	Jarred Hestand	Staff Member
Jemez Mountain	Crystal Gallegos	Staff Member
Lake Arthur	Becki Hammond	Staff Member
Las Cruces	Kimberly Molina Elementary English Language Team Teresa Jones Tamara Odom Meredith Monroe Danis Saenz Amber Gonzales	Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member
	Las Cruces Home Builders Asso	
Las Vegas City	Dr. Dolores Ortega	Community Member
Logan	Rochelle Roch	Staff Member
Lordsburg	Rosalia Gonzalez Gomez Dr. Stephen Lucas Zulema Gutierrez Raquel Montiel Scott Roberson	Community Member Administrator Administrator Administrator Administrator
Los Alamos	Courtney Smith Jacqueline Griego	Staff Member Staff Member
Los Lunas	Lawrence Sosa Claire Cieremans Dr. Arsenio Romero	Administrator Administrator Administrator
Lovington	Kim Hess	Staff Member
Magdalena	Linda Perdue Scott Brantley	Staff Member Community Member
Maxwell	Cindi Berry	Staff Member

<u>District</u>	<u>Recipient</u>	Category
Melrose	Alan Daugherty	Staff Member
Mesa Vista	Paul Chacon Dominic Trujillo Connie Lujan Raquel Trujillo Annaliese Pena	Staff Member Community Member Staff Member Staff Member Student
Mora	Balazar Olivas Tina Burton-Crunk	Bus Driver Staff Member
Moriarty-Edgewood	Jeffrey Stout Patty Anglin	Staff Member Staff Member
Mosquero	Gina Martinez	Staff Member
Pecos	Ray Valdez Andrea Apodaca	Staff Member Staff Member
Penasco	Nanette Tafoya	Community Member/Volunteer
Pojoaque	Mario Vigil Carrie Garcia Angela Martinez	Principal Staff Member Staff Member
Portales	Henry Montano	Assistant Superintendent
Quemado	Kristin Carver Andrea Olson Will Chavez Tommie Chavez Alfredo Fernandez	Staff Member Staff Member Community Member Community Member Staff Member
Questa	Sharon Quintana Lorraine Trujillo Dezirae Ortega Griego/Cisneros Family Maria Gonzales	Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Community Members Community Member
Raton	Crescencio (Chris) Archuleta	Staff Member
Rio Rancho	Richard Draper Suzanne Nguyen Jeanie Springer Knight	Community Member Administrator Community Member
Ruidoso	Ashley Beatty Rachel Lutterman	Staff Member Staff Member

<u>District</u>	Recipient	Category
Ruidoso (Cont.)	Anna Weaver Lesley Byrd	Staff Member Staff Member
San Jon	The Slutz Family	Community Members
Santa Fe	Mayor Alan Weber, Rich Brown and Julie Sanchez Senator Nancy Rodriguez John Sais Alyssa Maestas Maya del Margo Jenn Jevertson Kimberley Washburn Ben Gomez Early Childcare Center Equity, Diversity and Engagement Kate Noble Abe Benavidez Ryanne Cooper and Melissa Blaylock Ruthanne Greeley Dr. Suchint Sarangarm Security & Safety Department Ortiz Middle School Staff Zeb Bellon FuMei Tsai	City of Santa Fe State Legislator Principal Parent/Comm. Member Administrator Staff Member Basketball Coach Department Department Former School Board Member Former Mail Clerk Staff Members Administrator Department Staff Members SFHS Band Mandela International Magnet School ECO
Silver	Crystal Drennan Victoria Oaxaca	Parent Administrator
Socorro	Geraldine Baldonado Holly Mayfield Cody Johnston Christine Peguero Frances Fuller	Staff Member Administrator Volunteer Administrator Staff Member
Springer	Christine Vigil	Counselor
Taos	Sonya Struck	Community Member
Tatum	Dollie Meroney	Staff Member (posthumously)
Truth or Consequences	Mental Health Team	Staff Members
Tucumcari	Thomas J. Evans Bo Wallace & Dr. Haily Wallace Page 5 of 6	Staff Member SBM & Community Member

<u>District</u>	Sharon D LaTouf <u>Recipient</u>	Staff Member Category
Tularosa	Layla Gaston Sergio Castanon Patti Cawthon Betty Ramsey Kiwanis Club Lola Ahidley Heather Kangas Robert Sainz Jr.	Student Staff Member Volunteer Volunteer Organization Staff Member Volunteer Volunteer
Vaughn	Ruthie Apodaca Lyndsey Padilla	Staff Member Administrator
Wagon Mound	Tyler Kelley Cassius Simpson Irene Melendez Jaylyn Maestas Nichole Duran Aunna Bradley Davette Hurtado	Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member
West Las Vegas	Kenneth Bachicha Deborah Gallegos Arthur Daniel Madrid Delbert Saavedra Paul Sandoval	Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Administrator Administrator