

300 Galisteo Street, Suite 204 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501 Phone: (505) 983-5041 G Fax: (505) 983-2450



For Immediate Release: April 17, 2024

Contact: Joe Guillen (505) 983-5041 jguillen@nmsba.org

EXCELLENCE IN STUDENT ACHIEVEMENT AWARD RECIPIENTS ANNOUNCED

The New Mexico School Boards Association (NMSBA) announced recipients of the 2024 Excellence in Student Achievement Awards. The awards, sponsored by NMSBA, are presented to individuals selected by local boards of education throughout New Mexico who have played an important role in improving student achievement in their local school district. <u>Sixty-four (64) New Mexico school</u> <u>boards participated in this year's program and a record one hundred eighty-two (182) award</u> <u>recipients were selected.</u> Recipients are listed below and will be honored at local school board meetings throughout New Mexico over the next few weeks. For specific information about award recipients, please contact the local school district. For additional information on the Excellence in Student Achievement Award Program contact Joe Guillen, NMSBA Executive Director.

<u>District</u>	<u>Recipient</u>	<u>Category</u>
Alamogordo	Anna Alday Heather Kangas	Staff Member Community Member
Albuquerque	Janet Garcia	Staff Member
Artesia	T.J. and Jennifer Palma	Community Members
Belen	Andrea Montano	Administrator
Bernalillo	Rosangela Montoya	Administrator
Bloomfield	Dr. Kimberly Mizell	Superintendent
Capitan	Michelle Stearns Capitan PTO	Staff Member Community Member
Carrizozo	Bradley Wilson	Staff Member
Central	Dr. Rebecca Benedict	Administrator
Cimarron	Debra Hill Megan Mitchell Sherry Hamilton Leo Martinez Tracey Hernandez Cindy Carr Alberta Martinez Sean Murphy Cecilia Carrington	Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member

Chama	Melvin Montano Nicole Mercure Conlan Jones Ann Connor Joan Rendell Scott Sanders Manuel Valdez Cleo Valdez Amanda Garcia Juan Torrez Marvin Mercure Adam Valencia Jose Torrez Maria Herrera Harold Ulibarri	Staff Member Staff Member
Clayton	Adrian Hidalgo Lanette Jacobs	Coach Staff Member
Cloudcroft	Joni Watson	Staff Member
Clovis	Eric Wimbish	Administrator
Cobre	Eleanor Pedraza	Staff Member
Deming	Bell Elementary School Staff Early College High School Staff	School site School site
Des Moines	Rob & Mary B. Ellis	Community Members
Dexter	Anna Berry	Staff Member
Dora	Wayne & Donna Tivis	Community Members
Estancia	Juana Regalado Adrienne Pierce	Staff Member Staff Member
Farmington	Ted Lasiewicz	Administrator
Fort Sumner	Chyanne Lee Lyndel Bonds	Staff Member Staff Member
Gadsden	Bruce Beach Daisy Lira Ray Lara Maryann Clark Cathie Williams Gianni Villegas	Staff Member Community Member Community Member Administrator Administrator Staff Member

Gadsden (continued)	Mireya Meza Sydney Payan	Staff Member Staff Member
Gallup-McKinley	Stacey Badonie	Staff Member
Grants-Cibola	Jana Aragon Janiah Chavez William Griner	Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member
Hobbs	Senator Gay Kernan Gary Eidson	NM State Senator School Board Member
House	Lora Armendariz	Staff Member
Lake Arthur	Edward Rubio	Administrator
Las Cruces	Technology Support Services Technical Team	LCPS District Dept.
	Technical Team McKinney Vento Program Bilingual Community Outreach Program Kathy Vigil	LCPS District Program LCPS District Program
		Staff Member
Las Vegas	Donna Ortiz	Staff Member
Logan	Peggy Roberts	Staff Member
Lordsburg	Michelle Culberson Ryan Chaney Bob Hill	Staff Member Administrator Community Member
Los Alamos	Ali Semanision Cheryl & Morrie Pongratz	Staff Member Community Members
Los Lunas	Jamie Giron	Administrator
Lovington	Brenda Perry	Staff Member
Magdalena	Merrissa Chavez Evelyn Otero	Staff Member Staff Member
Maxwell	Susan Robinson	Staff Member
Mesa Vista	Calista Sisneros Jessica Lovato Ellis Nevarez Shanae Silva Amanda Sandoval	Student Administrator Coach Student Community Member

Mora	Omar Cortes Lorinda Manuel	Staff Member Staff Member
Moriarty-Edgewood	Anita Pacheco Lori Chavez	Staff Member Staff Member
Mosquero	Jacob Green	Former Staff Member
Pecos	Michael Sandoval Schanina Soriano	Staff Member Staff Member
Penasco	Shiela Rodriguez	Staff Member
Pojoaque	Dana Abrums Jolene Martin	Staff Member Staff Member
Portales	Maggie Mendoza	Staff Member
Quemado	Alisa Estrada Andrew Gump Cindy Waldron	Community Member Staff Member Staff Member
Raton	Linda Ortiz Alice Fitzgerald Lenore Barfield	Staff Member Staff Member Community Member
Reserve	Missy Lengstorf Kayli Ortiz	Staff Member Administrator
Rio Rancho	Miriah Affentranger Bruce Gustin Jose Salazar	Administrator Staff Member Administrator
Roy	Chris Fudge	Volunteer
Ruidoso	Jacqueline Parenti Aisela Magana Trevor Rabourn Gretchen Chase	Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member
San Jon	Yvonne Bone	Staff Member

Santa Fe	Kat Keener Alicia Dickinson Galen Prenevost John Tirrano Caiti Lord National Dance Institute of NM Lucas Robbins Erin Lucio Hanbi Park Gabriel Tafoya Santa Fe Public Schools Transportation Department US Senator Martin Heinrich Brittany Behanna-Griffith Felicia Torres Ana Dynarski Jaime Holladay Howard Oechsner Hope Cahill Anita Navrot Hansen Bergamini Marion Markham Michael Nation Regal Tuttle Janine Sammeth Maritza Sanchez	Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Community Members Student Group Student Group Student Group Student Group Staff Member Staff Member
Silver	Louis Alvarez Cindy Barris	Administrator Administrator
Socorro	Dr. Maureen E. Wilks Roberta Cooke & Marc Gross Brittany McDaniel Kenny Gonzalez Mela Straley	Staff Member Staff Members Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member
Springer	Fatima Levario-Chavez	Student
Tatum	Brent Van Dyke	Staff Member
Truth or Consequences	District Educational Assistants Kindergarten Teachers	Staff Members Staff Members
Tucumcari	Dana & Patrick Benavidez Veronica Hernandez Dave Johnson	Staff Members Staff Member Administrator

Tularosa	Gia Portillo Daniel Burk W. Todd Lindsay Chase Montes Sylvia Duran Diane Duran Lyndsey Castanon Rusty Helton Samantha Chavez Naomi Sainz David Bartram	Staff Member Administrator Administrator Staff Member Staff Member Volunteer Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member School Board Member School Board Member
Vaughn	Tina Romero Denise Castillo Joe Gauna Patricia Martinez Pamela Roybal	Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member Staff Member
Wagon Mound	WM High & Middle School Business Professionals of Ameri	Sponsored Club ca
West Las Vegas	Pablo Coca District Counselors Ralph Montano Transportation Bus Drivers Elizabeth Ulibarri	Staff Member Staff Members Staff Members Administrator
Zuni	Boyd Lewis	Administrator